Blogging my Career Shift

I’m in the middle of a lot of transition. I’m a new mom, in a new city (Seattle), looking for a new type of job.

I’ve been teaching (mostly English) for quite a while, but lately I’ve been getting interested in programming. So interested that I’m thinking about switching careers. But first I need to make sure I have the necessary skills.

As it turn out, there are a LOT of resources for aspiring software development online, which means that I can use them to try to teach myself the skills I need. So I’m going to blog my way through learning some of them.

As someone who has spent a lot of time in classrooms, I tend to have strong opinions about pedagogy. I’m willing to learn from whatever is out there, but just so you know where I’m coming from:

  • I tend to favor student-centered learning.
  • I like practical exercises that mimic real-life situations.
  • I like challenges that help me to reach a specific goal, but let me figure out a lot of the pieces by myself.

If that’s how you learn too, maybe you’ll enjoy learning along with me…

Let’s get started!

 

(Next: Learn Ruby the Hard Way, Part 1: Command Line)

One thought on “Blogging my Career Shift

Leave a Reply

